Access database and web based reports

I have a job where they have built a wonderful VB5 application that write to a Access 97 database. I need to take the information and display it in a dynamic web reporting system. I thought, wow this would be great to use SQL server 2005 reporting services. Nope, you have to convert the access 97 database to a Access 2000 or better then upsize it to a SQL database.

I thought that was a bummer. I started messing around with my Visual Studios 2005 and it’s built in Crystal reports I figured that they should have improved it since VS2003.

Well look at that it does hook right up to my Access 97 tables and does affair job of presenting the reports. Now all I have to do is figure how to use this and write it up.

~ by Guy Pelletier on August 21, 2006.

Leave a Reply

 
