Wal-Mart, This time it’s personal

You would think that with all the legal issues that Wal-Mart has to face that they would try real hard not to do something that will get public attention.

First a couple of disclaimers;

1. All of this article is my opinion and my opinion alone, it does not reflect the thoughts of anybody else, just me.

2. I have never met nor have I seen any evidence that supports or denies these comments.

3. The person that I am talking about here is my daughter, and yes I am very biased when it comes to my children.

 

My youngest daughter used to work for Wal-Mart, she was hired several years  ago at the Wal-Mart on Barry Road in North Kansas City, MO. She moved to Jackson, MI where she was hired by the local Wal-Mart there.

Within the last month, that Wal-Mart has saw it necessary to fire my daughter for stealing. What did she steal, she was accused of reading a magazine at the check-out while working as a casher.

My daughter has denied these allegations and frankly I believe her, she has been repeatedly praised as an outstanding employee. Something else makes me suspect this action, this particular Wal-Mart terminated a large group of long term employees for the same type of frivolous accusations.

It appears that this store is trying to reduce it’s overhead on personnel costs, Wal-Mart has a history of keeping it’s operating cost low by minimizing what it pay to it’s employees. Do a Google search for Walmart employees and you will get over 2 million hits.

By firing my daughter for stealing, they have effectively eliminated her chances for getting a decent job. Why would they want to do that?

I hope that Wal-Mart the corporation will take a look at what has happened at Jackson, MI.

I use the store allot and I wont stop using it, it provides me with what I need. Terminating my daughter for stealing because she makes too much pay is not only wrong, but

stupid.

 

Guy Pelletier

guypell2@msn.com

~ by Guy Pelletier on November 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
